Books

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This book…was fantastic. Simply, fantastic. Before I proceed, I just want to warn you that there are spoilers ahead.

I had seen this book many books, and of course, it grabbed my attention due to its’ unique name. If you haven’t guessed yet, I am definitely a fangirl. However, I kept looking at it, but I never actually purchased it until my friend read it. After she finished, she texted me right away saying that I need to read it. This was her reasoning: “Amy, this is you.” That was all she said, but I knew at that point, the next time I was in a bookstore that I would purchase this book. I had to know why she thought the protagonist was exactly like me.

Once I started reading Fangirl, I did not stop. I went in with the mindset that this book was going to be wonderful, but it was even better than I hoped it would be. Cath is just starting college along with her twin sister Wren. During their childhood, they both were very involved in the Simon Snow fandom (which basically equates to Harry Potter – it was perfect), but as they grew older, Wren was moving on from the fandom and Cath went deeper into it. She writes fanfiction about it…which I hate to admit that I tried writing fanfiction once: Yikes (I’m not sorry to say, but you will never see that). This book follows her journey during her first year of college. She is balancing school work with writing fanfiction, balancing her friends, old and new, and I think it is a wonderful representation of what it’s like to actually start college when you’re not interested in just partying. Cath is an introvert, and sometimes she feels out of place in college which is something I can relate too. It also took me a while to feel like I belonged at my college. That’s another reason why I loved this book so much.  I felt like Cath was such a relatable character for me because I feel as though we shared similar situations. I would recommend this book to everyone who feels like they are a fangirl because it shows that we are not alone!

On a side note, I feel in love with Levi the moment he came on the page. He was so genuine and chivalrous, it was hard not too. But I also loved the message he is sending to the readers: always be true to yourself because there always will be someone who appreciates it. Cath feels like she needs to hide a part of herself in the beginning, but Levi helps her understand that he’s not interested in just a portion of her, he truly likes everything about her. I think that’s a powerful message for everyone to internalize.

In regards to the 2016 Book Challenge, I have used Fangirl to successfully complete “An author that you have never read before”. However, I know that this will not be the only book that I read from Rainbow Rowell. I personally think that she is a genius. I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of her books…especially Carry On. How clever is it that Rowell published the fanfiction that Cath was writing in Fangirl? GENIUS idea.

Always looking for new books to try – any suggestions for my next book to read?

4 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

