Musicals/Plays

Something Next to Normal, that’s the thing I’d like to try…

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of seeing Next to Normal. Originally, I saw this two years ago, and I fell in love with it. A community theatre near us (…not really 50 mins away, but totally worth it!) were performing it, and right away I knew I had to go.

Image

This musical is amazing. Simply amazing, and the crazy thing to me is that no one really knows about it! I will warn you it is super intense. It is about a mother and her depression. It follows her family and how it affects her daily life. It is a compelling, intense storyline that will have you crying. The first time I saw this musical I was crying for the last hour of the play.

This musical is performed with 6 people…just 6 people and the band. It is phenomenal. The music is superb. If you love belting musicals (which I do) this is the perfect soundtrack for that. Every song has its’ own intensity and awesomeness. I can’t tell you how addicted I am to this soundtrack. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite song, but here are my most played:

  1. I am the One
  2. I’m Alive
  3. I am the One (Reprise)
  4. I’m Alive (Reprise)
  5. You Don’t Know

It blows my mind that people do not know this musical. Believe me, if you have a chance to watch this, please do! It will move you to tears, tug at your heart strings, and definitely make you happy for what you have.

Leave a Reply

